Chen Deguang (陈德广) — Media Profile & Archive

Media Profile & Archive — Chen Deguang (陈德广). This archive preserves the source chronology, provenance, and evidentiary limits of the reporting behind his Person Profile. It supports Chen Deguang (陈德广).

Person profile

Chen Deguang (陈德广) — male Falun Gong practitioner, born circa 1946–1947, Lanzhou, Gansu; retiree of the Northwest Branch of the No. 4 Metallurgical Construction Company. Profile covers: the 2001 Beijing appeal and 1.5-year labor-camp term; the 2011 arrest with his wife Sheng Chunmei and the couple’s nine-year sentences; his wife’s death in 2017 after medical parole; his July 2020 release and the revoked pension; the March 20, 2023 re-arrest; the early-April 2024 sentence of three years and eight months; and the January 2025 Lanzhou Prison listing.

Source chronology

  • Circa 2001 — English Minghui (October 8, 2001 news roundup). Chen traveled to Beijing to appeal for Falun Gong; he was sent to the Lanzhou Pingantai Labor Camp for a year and a half without legal procedure. His wife Sheng Chunmei was sent to the Provincial No. 2 Labor Camp for two years and his daughter Chen Shenghua for one year, for distributing Falun Gong materials.
  • July 6, 2011 — English Minghui (2014, 2017). Chen and his wife Sheng Chunmei were arrested in Huazhuang Township, Honggu District, Lanzhou, while distributing Falun Gong DVDs (reported as Shen Yun DVDs in one account). They were held at the Pingantai Police Station, then the Honggu Detention Center for six months; both were sentenced to nine years by a lower court. Their appeal to the Lanzhou Intermediate Court was upheld without a hearing — a procedure the reports describe as violating criminal-procedure rules.
  • 2012–2017 — English Minghui (October 18, 2017). Sheng Chunmei’s health deteriorated under torture at the Gansu Province Women’s Prison (gallbladder infection, hypertension, diabetes). She was released on medical parole in critical condition and died on October 12, 2017, seven weeks later, at age 65.
  • July 6, 2020 — English Minghui (November 3, 2020). Chen was released after serving nine years in Lanzhou Prison; he recounted torture during the term. He learned his pension had been revoked in 2012; the local social security bureau refused to reinstate it and asked that pension payments issued between his July 2011 arrest and the 2012 stoppage be returned — whether he complied is unknown.
  • March 20, 2023 / early April 2024 — English Minghui (June 14, 2024). Chen, 78, was arrested on March 20, 2023 and sentenced to three years and eight months in early April 2024. The charge and sentencing court were not stated.
  • January 22, 2025 — English Minghui, “At Least 17 Falun Gong Practitioners Still Jailed at Lanzhou Prison in Gansu, Serving Up to 12 Years.” Lists Chen Deguang, about 78 and a former employee of the now-defunct Northwest Branch of the Fourth Metallurgical Construction Company, as serving the 3-year-8-month term at Lanzhou Prison.
  • August 31, 2026 — Rights Defense Network / 维权网, Issue 131 monthly report (English edition). Lists “Chen Deguang” among reported in-custody cases. Sentence-group placement inside the report was not confirmed from the report itself.

Source grading

  • English Minghui (2014, 2017, 2020, 2024, 2025) — Falun Gong-affiliated press; the only source class with sustained case coverage (2001–2025). Used for dated arrests, sentences, transfers, and family history. Medium for case facts; torture and mistreatment accounts are the source’s claims only, with no independent corroboration; legal characterizations are not adopted.
  • Falun Dafa Australia Information Centre (May 2024 sentencing roundup) — reprint of the Minghui May-2024 sentencing report; same provenance as above.
  • Issue 131 report (English edition) — the roster source; primary for the roster equation. High for the name listing and the August 31, 2026 in-custody classification; provides no case detail beyond the listing.

Conflicts and caveats

  • The charge and sentencing court for the 2023–2024 term are not stated in any reporting located; the Person body reports only the arrest date, sentence length, and sentencing timeframe.
  • The 2011 arrest date appears as July 6, 2011 in the detailed 2020 account and as “July 2011” elsewhere; one 2017 report says “arrested in 2013” while distributing materials — an apparent internal inconsistency in the source class, resolved in favor of the detailed 2011 account, which aligns with the nine-year term ending July 2020.
  • The birth year (circa 1946–1947) is derived from the “around 78” age in the January 2025 report; no birth date is documented — do not publish a specific date.
  • The Chinese character form 陈德广 is PROBABLE but not directly confirmed by a Chinese-language source.
  • Sentence-group placement within the Issue 131 report could not be confirmed from the report itself. The archive asserts only that he appears in the report’s in-custody roster.
  • The candidate is distinct from every other Chen entry in the Issue 131 roster and must not be merged with any of them.

Evidentiary limits

No court judgments, police records, or official Chinese government statements were located for any custodial episode. Primary evidence is Falun Gong-affiliated press (2001–2025) and the Issue 131 roster (August 31, 2026). The 2023 arrest circumstances, the charge and sentencing court for the 2024 term, and his present status beyond the dated listings are undocumented.