Su Yanxia (苏艳霞) — Media Profile & Archive

Profile: Su Yanxia (苏艳霞)

This archive gathers the available reporting on Su Yanxia (苏艳霞), a Falun Gong practitioner from Changchun, Jilin Province, whose 2024 detention and 2025 sentencing are documented in the CHRD Prisoners of Conscience database and by the Falun Gong–affiliated outlet Minghui. The account below draws on those two reporting ecosystems; no court record, official statement, or independent international-media coverage of her case has been located.

Case chronology

  • 1998 (February): Su begins practicing Falun Gong, according to the case accounts. (Minghui, February 1, 2025)
  • July 17, 2024 (evening): Officers of the Chengxi police station under the Luyuan Branch of the Changchun public-security bureau enter Su’s home, seize her, and search the premises. Fellow practitioner Liu Yajie is also seized that evening. (Minghui, February 1, 2025; CHRD record, entered March 11, 2025)
  • July–August 2024: Su is subjected to criminal detention; the arrest is approved and an indictment follows. (CHRD record)
  • August 2024: The case is submitted to the Changchun Chaoyang District Procuratorate. (Minghui, February 1, 2025)
  • December 2024: The case moves to the Changchun Chaoyang District Court. (Minghui, February 1, 2025)
  • Late January 2025: Word emerges that the Chaoyang District Court has sentenced Su to three years and six months. The charge and her place of detention are not reported. (Minghui, February 1, 2025)
  • January 16, 2028: Reported end of the sentence term. (CHRD record)
  • August 31, 2026: Listed by 维权网 (Rights Defense Network) Issue 131 monthly report among fixed-term prisoners in custody, in the group classified as sentenced to three years and six months.

Archived reports

  1. CHRD (Chinese Human Rights Defenders) Prisoners of Conscience database — 苏艳霞 / Su Yanxia record (entered 2025-03-11): the structured case file — female, born 1962, resident of Changchun; Falun Gong practitioner; seized July 17, 2024 by Chengxi police station officers; criminal detention, arrest, indictment; sentenced by the Changchun Chaoyang District Court to 3 years 6 months (learned late January 2025); charge and detention location unreported; term to January 16, 2028; links the Minghui case report as an additional source. Database search page.
  2. Minghui, February 1, 2025 — “信仰真善忍 长春苏艳霞被朝阳区法院枉判三年半”: the fullest narrative account — Su, 63, of Changchun, began practicing in February 1998; the July 17, 2024 home seizure by Chengxi police station (Luyuan Branch) officers and search of the premises; fellow practitioner Liu Yajie seized the same evening; submission to the Chaoyang District Procuratorate (August 2024) and Chaoyang District Court (December 2024); the late-January 2025 report of the 3.5-year sentence; an English version was published February 6, 2025 (“Jilin Woman Sentenced to 3.5 Years for Her Faith in Falun Gong”). The report also lists other Changchun practitioners sentenced by the same court — separate cases, not attached to Su Yanxia. Original article (Chinese); English version.
  3. 维权网 (Rights Defense Network), August 31, 2026 — 中国大陆在押政治犯、良心犯月度报告第131期(共1638人): 苏艳霞 listed in the fixed-term imprisonment section, in the “判刑3年6个月” group. Roster evidence only — no case details.

Evidentiary limitations

  • The detailed case accounts come from two related reporting ecosystems (CHRD’s prisoner database, which links the Minghui report as its additional source; and Minghui). They are not independently corroborated by court records, state media, or international media.
  • No formal charge is stated by any source; no charge is published.
  • The detention location is not reported by any source.
  • Terms such as “illegal” and “unjust” in the cited reports are the sources’ characterizations.
  • The roster custody classification is dated August 31, 2026; the sentence-term end date (January 16, 2028) is reported by the CHRD database record.

Consulate / official-source check

No consular dimension (a PRC citizen detained in the PRC). No PRC court-published judgment, state-media report, or official record of this verdict was located in bounded searches. Recorded as: not found.

Profile: Su Yanxia (苏艳霞)