Yang Xuegui (杨学贵) — Media Profile & Archive

Person profile: Yang Xuegui (杨学贵)

Media Profile & Archive: Yang Xuegui (杨学贵)

This archive preserves the documented media and organizational records on the case of Yang Xuegui (杨学贵), born 1965, a former general-services staff member of Lanzhou No. 2 People's Hospital and a Falun Gong practitioner, currently serving a six-year sentence handed down on December 28, 2024.

Case chronology (as documented)

  • 1982 — Joins the People's Liberation Army; later serves as a signal-corps soldier at the Laoshan frontline (1985). (CHRD prisoner-of-conscience record)
  • 1996 — Begins practicing Falun Gong. (CHRD)
  • 2002 — Detained and sentenced to eight years in prison in connection with practicing Falun Gong. (CHRD)
  • 2016 — Detained and sentenced to five years in connection with practicing Falun Gong; subjected to torture in custody, per CHRD records. (CHRD)
  • January 16, 2024 — Reported to police while speaking to people on the street about Falun Gong. (CHRD)
  • March 4, 2024 — Taken into custody by the Anning Branch of the Lanzhou Public Security Bureau; home searched; placed under criminal detention, then formally arrested and indicted. (CHRD)
  • December 28, 2024 — Sentenced by the Lanzhou Chengguan District Court to six years in prison and a 5,000-yuan fine; charges of record not publicly documented. (CHRD)
  • February 11, 2025 — CHRD database entry updated; Yang held at the Lanzhou No. 3 Detention Center, sentence to March 4, 2030. (CHRD)
  • August 31, 2026 — Listed in the Rights Defense Network (维权网) monthly roster of prisoners of conscience held in mainland China, in the six-year-sentence group. (维权网 Issue 131)

Source records

  • Chinese Human Rights Defenders (CHRD), Prisoners of Conscience database — individual case record for 杨学贵 / "Yang Xuegui" (entry recorded 2025-02-11): full biographical and case narrative, six-year sentence, Lanzhou No. 3 Detention Center. Record retrieved via the database's own search interface on 2026-10-10; single matching record in the full 4,372-record corpus. VERIFIED.
  • Minghui victim archive — individual victim page for 杨学贵: Falun Gong-affiliated media; case details attributed accordingly. VERIFIED (page fetched 2026-10-10).
  • 维权网 (Rights Defense Network), "中国大陆在押政治犯、良心犯月度报告 2026年8月31日(第131期)": roster line placing 杨学贵 in the "sentenced to six years, 54 people" group. Established independent Chinese-language rights-monitoring outlet. VERIFIED.

Evidentiary limitations

  • The specific criminal charges behind the December 2024 six-year sentence are not publicly documented; both CHRD and Minghui record the charge as unknown. This page does not state a charge.
  • The detention-facility attribution (Lanzhou No. 3 Detention Center) is dated February 2025; a sentenced prisoner is normally transferred to a prison, so the current facility should not be asserted beyond the dated record.
  • Accounts of torture in custody and of the 2002 and 2016 detentions rest on CHRD's case record; no independent court documents are publicly available. These claims are attributed, not stated as independently verified findings.

Person profile: Yang Xuegui (杨学贵)