Person profile: Yang Xuehua (杨学华)
Media Profile & Archive: Yang Xuehua (杨学华)
This archive preserves the documented media and organizational records on the case of Yang Xuehua (杨学华), born 1970, a resident of Guangwai, Xicheng District, Beijing, and a Falun Gong practitioner, currently serving a seven-year sentence handed down on December 29, 2020.
Case chronology (as documented)
- July 21, 2020 — Distributes Falun Gong materials near the Beijing West Railway Station (Xicheng District, Beijing); reported to police. (CHRD prisoner-of-conscience record)
- July 23, 2020 — Taken into custody by the Taipingqiao Police Station, Fengtai District; home searched. (CHRD)
- December 29, 2020 — Tried at the Fengtai District Court; lawyer enters a not-guilty plea; sentenced to seven years in prison; charges of record not publicly documented. (CHRD; Minghui)
- February 26, 2021 — Minghui publishes "发真相资料 北京杨学华被枉判七年" (Distributing Truth-Clarification Materials: Beijing's Yang Xuehua Unjustly Sentenced to Seven Years), reporting the case. (Minghui)
- April 26, 2021 — CHRD database entry recorded; Yang held at the Fengtai District Detention Center, sentence to July 22, 2027. (CHRD)
- August 31, 2026 — Listed in the Rights Defense Network (维权网) monthly roster of prisoners of conscience held in mainland China, in the seven-year-sentence group. (维权网 Issue 131)
Source records
- Chinese Human Rights Defenders (CHRD), Prisoners of Conscience database — individual case record for 杨学华 / "YANG XUE HUA" (entry recorded 2021-04-26): full case narrative, seven-year sentence, Fengtai District Detention Center. Record retrieved via the database's own search interface on 2026-10-10; single matching record in the full 4,372-record corpus. VERIFIED.
- Minghui — "发真相资料 北京杨学华被枉判七年" (February 26, 2021): Falun Gong-affiliated media; case details attributed accordingly. VERIFIED (page fetched 2026-10-10).
- 维权网 (Rights Defense Network), "中国大陆在押政治犯、良心犯月度报告 2026年8月31日(第131期)": roster line placing 杨学华 in the "sentenced to seven years, 86 people" group. Established independent Chinese-language rights-monitoring outlet. VERIFIED.
Evidentiary limitations
- The specific criminal charges behind the December 2020 seven-year sentence are not publicly documented; both CHRD and Minghui record the charge as unknown. This page does not state a charge.
- The detention-facility attribution (Fengtai District Detention Center) is dated April 2021; a sentenced prisoner is normally transferred to a prison, so the current facility should not be asserted beyond the dated record.
- The case narrative rests on CHRD's database record and Minghui's report; no independent court documents are publicly available. These claims are attributed, not stated as independently verified findings.
Person profile: Yang Xuehua (杨学华)