Yu Shenghua / 余胜华 — Media Profile & Archive

Person profile: Yu Shenghua (余胜华) — Political Prisoner Profile

This page collects the published reporting on the case of Yu Shenghua (余胜华), a Falun Gong practitioner from Dazhu County, Dazhou, Sichuan, sentenced to two years and six months in May 2025, with source attributions and the limits of what is known.

Case chronology

  • January 26, 2019 — Detained with Zhang Qimei after being reported while speaking about Falun Gong; held 5 days at Dazhu County Detention Center; released February 1. (Minghui library, attributed)
  • November 2020 — Subjected to community surveillance and harassment ahead of a local court hearing. (Minghui library, attributed)
  • December 6, 2020 — Detained with Zhang Qimei and She Xiaomin; released the same day. (Minghui library, attributed)
  • October 13, 2024 (evening) — Arrested with She Xingmin at Huangge Plaza, Dazhu County, by Dazhu County patrol police; placed under criminal detention; held at Dazhou City Detention Center. (CHRD; Minghui library)
  • 2024–2025 — Arrest approved; case prosecuted. (CHRD)
  • May 15, 2025 — Tried at Dazhou City Court with Peng Zuyin, She Xingmin, Luo Fuqiong. (CHRD; Minghui library)
  • ~September 2025 (reported) — Sentenced to 2 years 6 months + 5,000-yuan fine; charge not publicly reported. (CHRD; Minghui library)
  • August 27, 2025 — Reported transfer with Peng Zuyin and She Xingmin to Chengdu Prison. (Minghui library, attributed, unverified)
  • August 31, 2026 — Listed in 维权网 Issue 131 roster, “Sentenced to 2 years and 6 months, 30 people” group. (Issue-131 Chinese/English roster)

Media records

Item 1 — VERIFIED. Chinese Human Rights Defenders (CHRD), Prisoners of Conscience database (recognized human-rights NGO) — record for 余胜华 (“Yu Shenghua”), entered 2025-10-15. Establishes identity (name, English name, birth year 1969, Falun Gong practitioner, Dazhu County Dazhou; notes the 余盛华 variant), arrest date 2024-10-13, co-arrestee 佘兴敏 (She Xingmin), detention at Dazhou City Detention Center, 2-year-6-month sentence with 5,000-yuan fine ending 2027-04-11. This database is the individual-record source named by the 维权网 Issue-131 report itself. Database query: tenchu.org/pocd/public/dosearch. Opened and read; single exact record returned.

Item 2 — VERIFIED. Minghui.org case library (practitioner-run Chinese-language outlet; subject-community media — attributed) — victim page for 余盛华 (Yu, Shenghua): library.minghui.org. Confirms the same person (female, ~56 in 2025 → born ~1969, Dazhu County Dazhou Falun Gong practitioner), the 2019 and 2020 detentions, the October 13, 2024 arrest with She Xingmin, the May 15, 2025 trial of the four women, the 2.5-year sentence + 5,000-yuan fine, and the August 27, 2025 transfer to Chengdu Prison. Opened and read in full.

Item 3 — VERIFIED. Rights Defense Network (维权网) Issue 131 report (recognized rights-monitoring network), roster cutoff 2026-08-31, Chinese and English editions. Places 余胜华 ↔ “Yu Shenghua” in the “Sentenced to 2 years and 6 months, 30 people” group with neighbor-equation alignment (Xu Shuyao/徐述尧 before, Zhang Lifang/张利芳 after in both editions) — the positional basis for the Chinese-character resolution; also confirms the sentence length. Local corpus mirror; opened and read.

Item 4 — VERIFIED (corroborating). FreeChina.live — She Xingmin (佘兴敏) person page (WP post 12763): she-xingmin. Names Yu Shenghua as She Xingmin’s co-arrestee in the October 13, 2024 arrest and co-defendant in the May 15, 2025 trial — independent corroboration of the identity anchors. Read via WP REST.

Evidentiary notes

  • Name spelling: Minghui materials alternate between 余胜华 and 余盛华; CHRD uses 余胜华 with the 余盛华 variant noted. Treated as one person (all anchors align); recorded as variant, not a separate identity.
  • The criminal charge was not reported in any available source — record as “charge not publicly reported,” never infer.
  • The August 2025 Chengdu Prison transfer is reported only by the practitioner-run library — attributed, not independently verified; do not state current prison location as fact.
  • Earlier-detention and harassment details rest entirely on practitioner-run outlets — attributed in copy.
  • A Minghui.org sentencing article (September 9, 2025) returned empty responses on fetch attempts — not cited for facts; the library page carries the same content. A Minghui statistical roundup (October 17, 2025) repeats the same facts — recorded as duplicate, not a separate source.
  • No independent international-media, court, or official coverage located.

Person profile: Yu Shenghua (余胜华) — Political Prisoner Profile