See the full Person Profile for the biographical record.
Media records
1. CHRD prisoner-database entry — 周桂花 / Zhou Guihua (recorded 2025-10-15)
Database record for Zhou Guihua: born January 1954, female, from Linqu County, Shandong; Falun Gong practitioner; last detained September 5, 2025; two-year sentence running to September 4, 2027; charge not stated; held at Shandong Provincial Women's Prison. The record's profile narrative recounts her detention history, the January 2016 arrest, the 2016 two-year sentence, her departure from home and 2019 return, and the repeated failed custody attempts through 2025, and links to a September 2025 Minghui report as an additional source.
Source type: recognized human-rights NGO prisoner database. URL: https://tenchu.org/pocd/public/searchpage (database query interface; record retrieved via the database's name search on 2026-10-10). Verification: VERIFIED — searched and read by the preparer.
2. Minghui, September 18, 2025 — detailed case report on Zhou Guihua's 2025 imprisonment
A detailed account of the September 5, 2025 custody: a 71-year-old Linqu practitioner taken to the women's prison in Jinan for a two-year term despite failing the medical examination. The report gives the full case history: the January 2016 park arrest; three court sessions in 2016 ending in a two-year sentence and 5,000-yuan fine on June 7, 2016, with an appeal; her years away from home and 2019 return; and the court and police custody attempts between 2019 and 2025 that failed on health grounds. It also records earlier detentions, including the 2000 Beijing petition trips, a 2003 brainwashing-class detention, and a 2009 one-month criminal detention followed by a one-year labor-re-education term.
Source type: Falun Gong-affiliated news outlet; claims remain source-attributed. URL: https://www.minghui.org/mmh/articles/2025/9/18/499581.html — Verification: VERIFIED (opened and read in full, 2026-10-10).
3. Monthly roster of mainland political prisoners and prisoners of conscience, Issue 131 (August 31, 2026)
Lists Zhou Guihua / 周桂花 in the "Sentenced to 2 years, 32 people" group and in the surname index; the Chinese characters were fixed by positional alignment of the report's English and Chinese editions. The roster is the source of the in-custody classification as of August 31, 2026.
Source type: rights-monitoring monthly report. Verification: VERIFIED (local saved copies of both language editions opened and aligned; prior run).
4. Minghui English digest, June 9, 2016 — companion coverage of the 2016 case
Reported the Linqu County Court's third trial of "Ms. Zhou Guihua" on June 7, 2016, the two-year sentence, the 5,000-yuan fine, and her appeal. This item was previously held back for lack of an identity link; the CHRD record's own case narrative now confirms the 2016 Linqu two-year case is the same person, so it stands as corroborating companion coverage.
Source type: Falun Gong-affiliated news outlet. Verification: VERIFIED — opened and read in full on 2026-10-08 (prior worker); contents consistent with the September 2025 report's account of the 2016 proceedings.
Source provenance and limitations
- The CHRD prisoner database is the strongest single record: it anchors name, characters, birth date, hometown, detention date, sentence, term end, and detention location in one entry, and its narrative matches the Minghui report's account point for point.
- Minghui is a Falun Gong-affiliated outlet; its characterizations of the detentions and trials are reported as the outlet's account, not as independently verified findings.
- No PRC official judgment or state-media record for this case was located (web check, 2026-10-10); the criminal charge is not stated in any available source.
- The two wordings for the detention location in the CHRD record — 山东省女子监狱 (Shandong Provincial Women's Prison) in the record fields and 济南女子监狱 (Jinan Women's Prison) in the profile narrative — are both preserved as the record gives them.