Zhou Hongyan (周红燕) — Media Profile & Archive

See the full Person Profile for the biographical record.

Media records

1. CHRD prisoner-database entry — 周红燕 / Zhou Hongyan (recorded 2024-06-17)

Database record for Zhou Hongyan: born January 26, 1973, female, from Wuhan, Hubei (Xinzhou District, Yangluo), corporate accountant, Falun Gong practitioner; last detained March 27, 2023; three-year-nine-month sentence running to December 26, 2026; charge and detention location not stated. The profile narrative recounts the November 2016 arrest at Wuchang Shouyi College, the September 2017 three-and-a-half-year sentence, the March 2023 re-arrest, and the 2024 three-year-nine-month sentence, and links to a May 2024 Minghui report as an additional source.

Source type: recognized human-rights NGO prisoner database. URL: https://tenchu.org/pocd/public/searchpage (database query interface; record retrieved via the database's name search on 2026-10-10). Verification: VERIFIED — searched and read by the preparer.

2. Minghui (Chinese), May 19, 2024 — 武汉法轮功学员周红燕遭诬判三年九个月

Reports that Zhou Hongyan was arrested on March 27, 2023 after being reported for distributing Falun Gong materials in a Wuhan residential compound, and that the Hongshan District Court sentenced her to three years and nine months. It gives the case history: the November 6, 2016 arrest with three other practitioners, nearly a year in the Wuhan No. 1 Detention Center, and the September 5, 2017 three-and-a-half-year sentence. It includes her background (born 1973-1-26, accountant, Xinzhou Yangluo, began practicing March 1999) and her first-person account of a 2014 detention at the Wuhan Biology Engineering College.

Source type: Falun Gong-affiliated news outlet; all claims remain source-attributed. URL: https://www.minghui.org/mh/articles/2024/5/19/武汉法轮功学员周红燕遭诬判三年九个月-477708.html — Verification: VERIFIED (opened and read in full, 2026-10-10).

3. Minghui (English), May 23, 2024 — "51-Year-Old Hubei Woman Given Second Prison Sentence for Practicing Falun Gong"

The English edition of the same report: a 51-year-old Wuhan resident sentenced to three years and nine months; arrested March 27, 2023; prosecutor Liu Lan (Hongshan District Procuratorate) and judge Liu Yufei (Hongshan District Court) named as involved; the 2016 arrest and 2017 three-and-a-half-year sentence as the first sentencing.

Source type: English edition of the same outlet's report. URL: https://en.minghui.org/html/articles/2024/5/23/218252.html — Verification: VERIFIED (opened and read in full, 2026-10-10); canonical translation — DUPLICATE of record 2's content, preserved as the English-language record.

4. Monthly roster of mainland political prisoners and prisoners of conscience, Issue 131 (August 31, 2026)

Lists Zhou Hongyan / 周红燕 in the "Sentenced to 3 years and 9 months, 10 people" group (§VII) and in the surname index (§VIII); the characters 周红燕 (not 周红艳) were fixed by positional alignment of the report's English and Chinese editions. The roster is the source of the in-custody classification as of August 31, 2026.

Source type: rights-monitoring monthly report. Verification: VERIFIED (local saved copies of both language editions opened and aligned; prior run).

Source provenance and limitations

  • The CHRD prisoner database is the strongest single record: it anchors name, characters, birth date, hometown, occupation, arrest date, sentence, and term end in one entry, and its narrative matches the Minghui reports point for point.
  • Minghui is a Falun Gong-affiliated outlet; its characterizations and the first-person account are reported as the outlet's/subject's account, not as independently verified findings. The inference about blood tests in her 2014 self-account is not published as fact.
  • No PRC official judgment or state-media record for this case was located (web check, 2026-10-10); the criminal charge and detention location are not stated in any available source.

Person Profile